Beginning in 1916, intrastate bus service was regulated by the Maryland Public Service Commission. The Annual Reports were lacking in further information regarding the early bus companies. But the February 1922 issue of the publication "Bus Transportation", lists the operators and routes at the time.

Operator                         Route

C. O. Albright                   Cumberland-Ellerslie/Zembower's Store
John L. Adams                    Cambridge-Claiborne
Frank Buttion                    Baltimore-Chesaco Park
Leonard C. Burns                 Washington-Brooksville-Ashton
Leonard C. Burns                 Olney-Ellicott City
V. M. Barnett                    Chestertown-Tolchester
Baltimore Transit Co.            Baltimore
Lewis H. Blair                   Clearspring-Hagerstown
H. N. Burgoon                    Manchester-Greenmount
Charles L. Cook                  Lakeshore-Brooklyn (Baltimore)
Wm. E. Conway                    Westminster-Reistertown
Oden C. Coffin                   Westminster-Littlestown PA
Denton Auto Bus Co.              Denton-Ridgely/Greensboro
Wm. L. Dean                      Cambridge-Hurlock
Robt. P. Droneburg               New Market-Frederick
Emmitsburg Motor Co.             Emmitsburg-Taneytown
Emmitsburg Motor Co.             Thurmont-PA State Line
Roy R. Gosnell                   Frederick-Brunswick
Roy R. Gosnell                   Baltimore-Frederick
Stewart A. Geisbert              Baltimore-Frederick
W. C. Ham                        Baltimore-Frederick
Harry G. Lescalleet              Baltimore-Frederick
C. L. Wood                       Baltimore-Frederick
Gladhill & Sonder                Frederick-Washington DC
Frank E. Sheffield               Frederick-Washington DC
Willie V. Wolfe                  Frederick-Washington DC
E. V. Hull                       Smithsburg-Hagerstown
Walter H. Hadaway                Rock Hall Ferry Pier-Rock Hall
Charles Harvey                   Curtis Bay-Hall's Church
Wm. A. Webb                      Leitersburg-Waynesboro PA
Harry N. Hopkins                 Belair-Havre de Grace
Lashley & Anderson               Cumberland-15 Mile Creek/Cresaptown
Claude J. Lewellyn               Capitol Heights-Washington DC
Wm. B. Loller                    Earleville-Middletown DE
McMahon Transportation Co.       Overlea-Belair
Wm. Miller                       Lansdowne-Morrell Park
J. N. Marshall                   St. Michaels-Easton
Taylor W. McKenny                Elkton-Chesapeake City
Owens & Stokes                   Sharptown-Salisbury
Pebrie & Harshman                Hagerstown-Waynesboro PA
Dominick Rossi                   Belair-Darlington/Shawsville
Philip Restivo                   Gwynn Oak Jct.-Westminster/Sykesville
W. E. Rinard                     Mt. Savage-Cumberland
Royal Auto Service Co.           Washington DC-Bradbury Heights
Philip G. Schatz                 Laurel-Baltimore
Oscar F. Smith                   Salisbury-Fruitland
Christopher Seling               Baltimore-Poplar
Louis Slocum                     Cambridge-Claiborne/Salisbury/Hurlock
Harry V. Steiger                 Hagerstown-Mercersburg PA
Salisbury-Berlin Transit Co.     Salisbury-Berlin
Alfred C. Stiltz                 Elkton-Newark DE-Wilmington DE
F. L. Simpson                    Libertytown-Frederick
Tidewater Lines                  Washington DC-Brandywine/Waldorf-Rockpoint
Tidewater Lines                  Waldorf-Leonardstown
Tidewater Lines                  La Plata-Doncaster
Tidewater Lines                  Washington DC-Cedar Hill Cemetery-Silver Hill
Tayman Bus Line                  Washington DC-Lothian
Taneytown Garage Co.             Taneytown-Westminster
Walter V. Trail                  Baltimore
John J. Twigg                    Frostburg-Grantsville
Ultimate Sales & Service Co.     Washington DC-Edgewood
Union Transfer Co. of Allegany   Cumberland-Kelly Springfield Tire Plant
W. Scott West                    North Beach-Chesapeake Beach
West Shore Transit Co.           Annapolis-Solomon's Island
Worcester Transit Co.            Snow Hill-Pocomoke City
Ashby Wood                       Brooklyn-Morris Hill
Fayette Street Motor Bus Line    Baltimore

Go to Chicago Transit & Railfan Web Site