Incorporated in 1926 as Consolidated Coach Corp., evolving from the following companies:

Reo Bus Line

Operated routes radiating from Lexington KY.

Red Star Transit Co.

Operated from Lexington to Maysville KY.

White Star Bus Line

Operated from Lexington to Ashland KY.

Thorobred Transit Co.

Operated from Lexington to Corbin KY and Cincinnati, and from Louisville to Evansville.

Safety Motor Coach Co.

Operated from Louisville to Bowling Green KY.

The above companies were merged in 1926 into Consolidated Coach Corp.

In 1931 began operating under name Southeastern Greyhound Lines, in 1936 officially renamed to Southeastern Greyhound Lines.

Subsequently acquired the following companies:

Union Transfer Co.
Acquired in 1930.

Operated from Nashville to Birmingham, Chattanooga, and Knoxville.

Alabama Bus Co.
Acquired in 1930.

Operated from Chattanooga to Birmingham.

Greyhound Lines of Georgia
Acquired in 1931. Incorporated in 1927 as Peach Belt Lines, renamed 1928 to Dixie Safety Coach Lines, renamed 1928 to Greyhound Lines of Georgia.

Operated from Chattanooga to Atlanta.

Union Bus Co.
Acquired in 1941.

Operated from Jacksonville to Marianna FL.

Dixie Coaches
Acquired in 1941.

Operated from Florence AL to Birmingham and Mobile.

Alaga Coach Lines
Acquired in 1948.

Operated main route from Columbus GA to Panama City FL.

Cherokee Motor Coach Co.
Incorporated in 1928, acquired in 1949.

Operated mainly from Chattanooga to Knoxville and Huntsville AL.

Kentucky-Virginia Stages
Acquired in 1950.

Operated from Ashland to Jenkins KY and Grundy VA.

Southeastern Greyhound Lines consolidated in 1960 into Southern Division of Greyhound.

Go to Chicago Transit & Railfan Web Site