Watertown Subdivision

FORMERLY Chicago Milwaukee St. Paul & Pacific Railroad (The Milwaukee Road)
(La Crosse Division/First Subdivision)
CONSTRUCTED 1856-1864 by La Crosse & Milwaukee Railroad
DOUBLE TRACK constructed 1903-1907
ABS installed 1912-1914
CTC installed 1990's/segments of second track eliminated
PASSENGER SERVICE: Amtrak Empire Builder

From 1858 to 1864, trains used an older main line further north via Horicon, which was subsequently downgraded to a branch line.

Radio Frequency - 161.520 (AAR Channel 94)

Stations/Milepost Locations

Direction is westward from Chicago
Distance is from Chicago

85.5 Milwaukee
87.3 Cut-Off
88.4 Grand Ave.
90.6 Wauwatosa
95.1 Elm Grove
99.4 Brookfield
102.1 Duplainville (CN crossing)
104.2 Pewaukee
110.1 Hartland
113.0 Nashotah
117.9 Oconomowoc
121.0 Cooney
123.6 Ixonia
131.2 Watertown (UP crossing)
133.0 Voltz
140.8 Reeseville
143.8 Tamarack
146.2 Astico
150.0 Columbus
153.6 Fall River
157.2 Dodge West
159.3 Doylestown
162.1 East Rio
164.3 Rio
169.0 Wyocena
176.0 Pacific
177.0 Portage Jct.
178.2 Portage

2 tracks from Milwaukee to Cut-Off, signaled for normal right hand operation.

1 and 2 tracks from Cut-Off to Portage. CTC in use, controlled by dispatcher in Minneapolis.


Information is based on 2015 Google satellite imagery, and is subject to change.

Classic Track Diagrams

Track diagram as the line existed in the 1980's, when the line was still double track.


Known discontinued passenger railroad stations. Includes zoomable Google maps.


Past and present towers and interlockings.